Good Reads | Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa Photographer

It is no secret that I LOVE to read. For six months, when I was recovering from my surgery, books were my solice, my refuge. I have read some amazing books so far this year.

 

The Black House – Peter May  This is the first in the Lewis trilogy. A murder occurs on the isolated Isle of Lewis. Detective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. Fin is from Lewis and re-connects with his past. The author captures the atmosphere of the isolated island. I loved the characters and the locations. As soon as I finished this book, I read the other books in the trilogy The Lewis Man and The Chessmen. I just wish that it was not a trilogy and a series.

The Hypnotist – Lars Kelper  Brutal murders, a boy who survives the attack that killed all of his family. Detective Inspector Joona Linna investigates the crimes aided by a Dr who is very reluncant to help and become involved in hypnotising another peson again. I could not turn the pages fast enough. For fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, here is another great thriller from Sweden. This is the first in a series, The Nightmare, the second in the series had me hooked as well.

Cutting For Stone – Abraham Verghese  This book has sat on my shelf for years. I finally picked it up when it was chosen as a book club pick. Cutting for Stone is a great big book in the tradition of Dickens and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance. Marion & Shiva are born in a mission hospital in Africa. Their birth is also the death of their mother, a nun. The brothers are raised by the family that is created by the hospital workers. This is a novel about truth and forgiveness. Love, hatred and anger. Doctors and patients. Home. Sacrifice. 

Summer days were meant for relaxing with a good read and losing yourself for a few hours whether you are sitting in the garden or laying on the beach. Any of the above books are great reads and will not disappoint.

Happy reading.

~ Jody

t w i t t e r
f a c e b o o k