Good Reads

I cannot believe it has been SO LONG since I have done a good reads post. So many good reads. So little time. So let’s get started with some of my latest good reads.

 

Bridget Jones Mad about the Boy – Helen Fielding    I was hesitant to read this book. I had heard that Mark Darcy dies. NO!!! Bridget is a little older, a mother and once again a singleton. I laughed. I cried. I loved this book.

Longbourn – Jo Baker       This book is a must read for fans of Downton Abbey. Pride and Prejudice, but told from the servants’ point of view. We know what happened above stairs at Longbourn. Now we learn what happened below stairs. a captivating read.

The Dovekeepers – Alice Hoffman       I had wanted to read this book for some time before I actually read it. In 70 CE atop a mountain fort 900 Jewish refugees are surrounded by the Roman army. The Dovekkepers tells the story of four of the woman. I knew nothing of the Masada massacre but I was hooked.

Sycamore Row – John Grisham         The moment after I finished  A Time to Kill I wanted another novel featuring Jake Brigance and his colourful friends. Finally John Grisham answered my wishes. Three years after the trail that almost destroyed Jake, he is thrust back into the spotlight. If you loved  A Time to Kill, Sycamore Row is a must read.

The Greatcoat – Helen Dunmore         Isabel carey is newly married to a man who is often away from home. She is living in a new village and has no real friends. Her home is cold, dark and depressing. She finds a greatcoat in the back of the cupboard and uses it as a blanket. After that a mysterious man shows up outside her window.  I wanted to LOVE this book. I really did. I loved the writing but as for the story itself…I was left wanting. This book is filled with a wonderful descriptive atmosphere. Picture England in the years just after the Second World War. Dark, damp, foggy, gloomy. I read this book when it was bright, sunny and warm. Maybe that is why I was left wanting. I am not sure.

The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion       When we went to Mexico in January, this book was everywhere – at the airport, on the plane, around the pool. It was THE book being read. Don Tillman is a brilliant genetics university professor who is looking for love. The Wife Project is born. But along the way Don meets Rosie who is looking for her father. The genetics expert now has a new project – the Rosie Project. Don’s path to love is a charming funny adventure. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.

 

These are just a few of my recent good reads. I will try to publish a good reads post once a month in the future. I love sharing my good reads with others.

 

t w i t t e r
f a c e b o o k