Chez WW is moving…..again.

Life as an army officer’s wife means that we move…a lot. Back in August Andrew called to tell me that we were getting posted again in 2014. I was hoping that we would be living in Petawawa for 3 – 5 years. Instead we are only getting 2 years. This will be our 6th move in 8 1/2 years.

On Friday it became official….we are getting posted. Not to be confused with going posted…although at some point during the moving process I do get a little crazy.  We are moving to CFB Borden in Ontario. My husband is over the moon excited about his new job. A friend asked how I felt. Ask me after a few more glasses of wine.

I have a great life here in Petawawa. I have wonderful friends who have become family. This summer I will have to pack up and move us to yet another home and start over. But I will only be 5 hours away and can come back for visits.

On the bright side, we will be moving to a beautiful area of the country full of hiking trails and close to the Great Lakes. We will be a few hours away from my cousin. We will be a few hours away from Toronto. I am looking forward to exploring the ROM and Casa Loma. I have never been to Niagara Falls, another place for us to explore. We will be closer to a bigger city which means more arts and culture, restaurants and shopping. We will make new friends…who will become family. I will plant a garden so we have beautiful flowers to greet us each time we come home. We will paint some walls. We will create a home. We will create a life. And it will be wonderful.

 

 

Where we love is home – home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.     - Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr.

Winter in Charlottetown

My mama came to stay with me whilst Andrew was in Afghanistan. But with his safe return, it was time to travel to Prince Edward Island to return mama to her friends. It has been 3 1/2 years since I have visited Charlottetown. The place has grown so much. And the restaurants. Some of the best meals I have ever had. And even better than the shopping and the great food was getting to spend time with my friends. Charlottetown is a place of beauty in the summer . But in the winter…it has a quietness and peacefulness that makes all of those windy and cold winter days worth it.

winter in Charlottetown

 

winter in Charlottetown

 

winter in Charlottetown

 

winter in Charlottetown

 

winter in Charlottetown

 

winter in Charlottetown

 

winter in Charlottetown

 

No matter the season, beauty is all around us. You just have to bundle up and get outside. And the best part is the mug of hot chocolate waiting for you when you get back home.

~ Jody

Happy Anniversary My Love

Today is our anniversary…our fifth anniversary. A day when I should be waking up with kisses from my husband. We should be having a romantic dinner together tonight. But, this year my beloved is in Afghanistan. There are so many things I want to say and the internet there sucks at the best of times. So this year I will write an old fashioned love letter…via the internet since it takes regular mail a month to reach Afghanistan.

My beloved husband,

Everyday I know how blessed I am to have you as a husband. You have made so many of my dreams come true (living in England, going to the Queen’s Garden Party at Buckingham Palace). Thank you for even making one of my mama’s dreams come true (seeing the Scottish Highlands). Thank you for making me laugh out loud everyday…even when you are in a war zone. Thank you for being my biggest supporter, for believing in me when I did not believe in myself. Thank you for loving me truly, madly, deeply. Thank you for being the best dad any Diva Poodle could ever ask for. Thank you for giving me those hand warmers that wintry day in Gagetown when we were on CAP. Out of all of the gifts you have ever given me, those hand warmers still touch my heart each time I think about it. You could have used them and you gave them to me knowing that I was hurt (dislocated knee-cap) and so very cold and could not imagine sleeping outside in the snow curled up in a sleeping bag on top of my ruck sack when it was -20. You are the definition of an officer and a gentleman. Your integrity inspires me to be a better person.

There is no one else I would live in Petawawa for….twice. Or move at least every 2 years.There is no one else I would rather travel the world with. No one else I would rather curl up with at night. No one else I would rather spend my life with. Today (and every day) as you wake up in a war zone know that your wife is dreaming of you. Today (and every day) when you finish work for the day know that your wife is hoping the internet is working so I can see your smiling face. Today and everyday know that I love you with my entire heart and soul and miss you with all of my heart.

Stay safe my love and we will celebrate our anniversary when you return safe and sound.

 

Good Reads | Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa Photographer

It is no secret that I LOVE to read. For six months, when I was recovering from my surgery, books were my solice, my refuge. I have read some amazing books so far this year.

 

The Black House – Peter May  This is the first in the Lewis trilogy. A murder occurs on the isolated Isle of Lewis. Detective Inspector Fin Macleod is sent from Edinburgh to investigate. Fin is from Lewis and re-connects with his past. The author captures the atmosphere of the isolated island. I loved the characters and the locations. As soon as I finished this book, I read the other books in the trilogy The Lewis Man and The Chessmen. I just wish that it was not a trilogy and a series.

The Hypnotist – Lars Kelper  Brutal murders, a boy who survives the attack that killed all of his family. Detective Inspector Joona Linna investigates the crimes aided by a Dr who is very reluncant to help and become involved in hypnotising another peson again. I could not turn the pages fast enough. For fans of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, here is another great thriller from Sweden. This is the first in a series, The Nightmare, the second in the series had me hooked as well.

Cutting For Stone – Abraham Verghese  This book has sat on my shelf for years. I finally picked it up when it was chosen as a book club pick. Cutting for Stone is a great big book in the tradition of Dickens and Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance. Marion & Shiva are born in a mission hospital in Africa. Their birth is also the death of their mother, a nun. The brothers are raised by the family that is created by the hospital workers. This is a novel about truth and forgiveness. Love, hatred and anger. Doctors and patients. Home. Sacrifice. 

Summer days were meant for relaxing with a good read and losing yourself for a few hours whether you are sitting in the garden or laying on the beach. Any of the above books are great reads and will not disappoint.

Happy reading.

~ Jody

Casey | Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa Glamour Photographer

After 6 months of not really being able to use my camera, I could not wait to get out and start shooting again. I am excited to test drive my new eyes. Instead of just going out shooting, I wanted to create challenges for myself, to push myself out of my comfort zone, to improve my skills. My first challenge was to shoot at noon on a bright sunny day in an area with little or no shade. That dreaded time when many photographers refuse to touch their cameras. But weddings happen when they happen and I want to be able to capture beautiful images no matter the time or weather conditions. I shot Tree in her vintage drees and hat under these conditions. I learn so much from actually do and even more from my mistakes.

I had planned to go out shooting with my second shooter Heather and we could shoot each other. But really, where is the fun in that. I put out a model call and Casey responded.

Whenever I photograph someone, we chat and I try to get to know whoever is on the other side of my camera. Casey shared some of her life experiences with me. I asked if I could share on the blog. Casey was a victim of bullying and name calling when she was younger. “Horse teeth” “Long neck” “Bug eyes” I was shocked and saddened for this beautiful woman who stood before me. I remember a rhyme from my childhood “sticks and stone will break my bones but names will neve hurt me.” As a child I believed this with my whole heart. Now I know that it is not true. Names do hurt. I could see the pain left by names year later, the struggle to find self love and acceptance, the struggle for confidence. If you are being bullied, know that you are not alone and the words being aimed at you have little to do with you and more to do with those doing the firing.

 

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa Glamour Photography

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa glamour photographer

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa glamour photographer

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa glamour photographer

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa glamour photographer

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa glamour photographer

Petawawa Pembroke Ottawa glamour photographer

 

Casey, you are stunningly beautiful. Believe it. Know it. Own it. Thank you so much for being my model and for sharing your story with me and for allowing me to share it with others.

~ Jody

t w i t t e r
f a c e b o o k